Post-show blues

Well here it is – my very first blog post (if we’re not counting the travel blog I did in Madrid, and we’re not). I always seem to be involved in some kind of project, mostly relating to acting or writing or something similar, so I thought, why not share it with the world? Or my mum, who may be the only person who’s bothered to come on here so far. Mum’s the word! Right now I’m suffering a little with what is known as the post-show blues – after a stonkingly awesome run of Goldoni’s The Venetian Twins the other week (with the stonkingly awesome Southsea Shakespeare Actors), I now find myself faced with that most terrifying of prospects – free time. Having shared a cupboard of a dressing room with my fellow cast members for a week, amidst the costumes, false eyelashes, cheap coffee and crappy (but oh so entertaining) gossip magazines, I now find myself a little lost. I miss the backstage banter, the running of lines, the sweating under the stage lights. And smelly as it may be, there’s something comforting about getting far too close to another human armpit whilst struggling to pull on a costume and not stick your bum in a fellow cast member’s face – it’s just so very… human. And there you have the very basis of acting – humanity. We show humanity at its best and at its worst. We capture the very essence of what it is to be human – to laugh, to cry, to dream, to imagine, to hurt, to discover and to rejoice. And this is why with every show I do, with every character I explore and portray, I come a little closer to understanding the human condition; closer to understanding myself.

Deep thoughts aside, I miss the camaraderie of the group and I miss each one of my fellow actors – I shall blow the conch and we can reassemble at the pub!

2 thoughts on “Post-show blues

Leave a Reply

