Flirting with an idea

Since things are now a little quieter on the acting front (but not for long – LAMDA summer school next month eek!), I thought I’d take the chance to work on my long-neglected writing projects. The most prominent of these is, of course, the ever-elusive novel. I’ve been working on this thing since I was about 12. Though it’s taken many twists and turns, changed plot completely about ten times, and changed names even more (so basically we’re talking about a dozen different novel beginnings here) I still refer to all this as one novel. Granted, a novel that’s suffering a serious identity crisis. My novel, or ‘The Novel’ as I affectionately refer to it (note the capital T and N), has been both a joy and a trial, a constant companion to delight me in times of inspiration and frustrate me when the well of creativity runs dry.

The biggest obstacle hasn’t been a lack of ideas, but rather too many of them! I’m a pretty restless person, I get bored easily, and one might even call me ‘flighty’ (not one of my redeeming qualities), and sadly the same problem has afflicted my novel. Sorry, ‘The Novel’. So you can imagine the mixture of excitement and caution I felt when a new idea started flowing onto the page earlier this week. Since then I have discovered a few developments, made a few tweaks, and am now mulling it over in the little nooks and crannies of my mind, trying to be sensible about it all, waiting until I have something concrete to commit to. But then, there’s nothing sensible about writing a novel, and where creative choices are concerned I seem to have a commitment problem. But right now I’m still in the first flushes of something new, flirting with an idea, testing the boundaries and discovering all the new and charming little intricacies of my companion. Whether this time it will last, only time will tell…

One thought on “Flirting with an idea

  1. Thoughts are so ephemeral. I’ve been writing in my mind since I was about 14, and still can’t complete a page I’m happy with. Which is why I’m starting an OU degree this year…. to give me a massive kick up the arse!

    btw…… Mamet……. Oleanna….. Think on 🙂

Leave a Reply

