Handmade thank you cards a là Papercrafter

With so many lovely presents this Christmas I wanted to make my thank you cards that bit special. Normally I buy little notecards, but this year I decided to give them the personal touch and make them myself, with a little help from PaperCrafter

Papercrafter kit

I always make Christmas cards for my family but I’ve never used a kit before. With this month’s PaperCrafter magazine (or last month’s, depending on how you look at it), there’s a vintage inspired floral-themed kit. Rifling through the pretty patterned papers, dainty buttons and pop-out flower petals I found plenty to play with, and some fantastic ideas inside the mag. I’m aware this is starting to sound like a PR piece, but I’ve only just discovered the magazine so am a bit over-excited about how brilliant it is! Maybe it’s all the glossy pages and pretty colours…

Bird house thank you card

I spent Christmas up north with my family this year and made them this cute little number as a thank you for a lovely Christmas. Using a piece of green card I cut it to A5 size and folded in half to make the card base. I used a piece of one of the Bo Bunny papers free with the magazine to make the sky, and cut out some of the birds and trees from the vintage kit, then cut a cloud shape from white paper. The fiddly but fun bit was making the bird house, which came with the kit. There were admittedly several occasions when I wished I had smaller fingers, but I got there in the end! I stuck one of the owl cut-outs inside, just peeking out – I decided he’d snuck in the birdhouse and was keeping a lookout for the residents in case they should return. The birdhouse was stuck to the card with double-sided tape, though it did take a bit of persuading to stay on!

Flowers thank you card

This one I made with a heavy dose of inspiration from the pages of the magazine – one of the designs featured in the issue gave me the idea of using the flower-shaped buttons along with the pop-out flower shapes and sewing these on to the card instead of using glue. I stuck the patterned pink paper to a piece of card, folded it and glued the stripy zig-zagged strip over the spine.

Then I sewed on the flowers, layering two of the pop-out flower shapes under each button and stitching it all together and on to the card with about three stitches before going on to the next one, using the same piece of thread for all three.

Sewing flowers on cardOnce done I stuck the remaining inch of thread on to the inside of the card with sticky tape (I’m rubbish at tying knots) and glued a piece of white paper over the threads on the inside left side of the card. The pop-out ‘For you’ piece I stuck on with double-sided tape, though I would have preferred decoupage pads, if I’d had any!

Leave a Reply

