There’s something about the light…

Last weekend we went to Cornwall to stay in a little cottage and forget about the world for a few days. I’d only been to Cornwall once before but had instantly fallen in love with it, and the place I returned to last week had all the mystical beauty I remembered from my visit the previous summer.

IMG_1340

One thing that particularly struck me, apart from the rugged beauty and charm, was the light. There’s something about the light in this little corner of the world that makes everything seem a little bit other-worldly, and bathes the fields and hills in a kind of mysticism. I could be getting lost in my over-active imagination here, but I’m sure many of you who have been down to this part of the country will know what I mean.

It was the perfect setting for a weekend of relaxation, the odd walk along the headland, and sitting curled up in a cosy armchair by the wood burner, going over my lines. You’d be surprised the places where an actor can steal the odd five minutes here and there to run through lines – the loo is a particular favourite, especially if you’re in for the long haul – but of course a setting that inspires you can give that little bit of extra motivation to plough on and remind you of the freedom you will feel once you’ve got the lines sorted.

With the light slanting in through the window and the fields reaching off into the distance, I felt the essence of the words coming from my mouth and I was lost for a special moment in the world of Pride and Prejudice and the magic of Jane Austen.

Leave a Reply

