A week of puppetry this and that

This week my puppetry journey took me to an audition with a company I greatly admire, a session of the Puppetry Foundation Course at Little Angel Theatre, and a workshop on puppetry and empathy in the classroom.

img_7747

Me with a beautiful little puppet at the Sept Gyre & Gimble training

I can’t say much more about the audition other than that it was a fantastic experience to be in the room with such creative people. I won’t hear whether I’ve got the job or not until next week, so fingers crossed!

My session at Little Angel Theatre was brilliant. Puppeteer Ronnie LeDrew told us about the history of the theatre itself and his own career, and demonstrated several different kinds of puppets he’d brought in, including glove puppets, a moving mouth puppet and some marionettes. Ronnie has operated Zippy from Rainbow (!!!), worked on Sooty and Sweep, and even worked on Jim Henson’s Labyrinth, so it was a bit like meeting a childhood hero! When he pulled out a set of Sooty and Sweep puppets from the show and a mini Zippy I nearly cried out with delight. It was magical. Meeting fellow puppetry enthusiasts was also fantastic – they’re a lovely bunch!

Alongside acting work I also work as teaching assistant (TA), which provides me with meaningful and fun work that pays the bills. Thus when I saw the In Your Shoes – Puppetry and Empathy short course advertised at Little Angel theatre I thought this sounded perfect for me, as it combined these two areas of work. The two-hour session was run by a lovely lady called Polly, who got us to think about why you would use puppetry in the classroom or in a session with children or young people, and showed us how to make a simple puppet out of a milk bottle that we could make with a class. We also explored how to use different breath to portray emotions in a puppet, and made simple string and newspaper puppets in groups of four, then brought these to life in short scenarios shared with the group.

img_7762

My fantastic group with our puppet at the Puppetry and Empathy workshop

It’s been such a fantastic, creative week, and I hope next week will be just as fun, with a puppetry workshop on Saturday that I might sign up for and a puppetry show at Little Angel Theatre in the evening!

Leave a Reply

